How to Manage Users in MOLE 2

Corporate Information & Computing How to Manage Users in MOLE 2 Manage Users As an Instructor on a course or a Leader in an organisation, you can man...
Author: Wendy Cox
0 downloads 1 Views 244KB Size
Corporate Information & Computing

How to Manage Users in MOLE 2 Manage Users As an Instructor on a course or a Leader in an organisation, you can manage users via the Manage Users tool. Open the Course Tools (Organisation Tools in an Organisation) menu in the Control Panel and select Manage Users. From here, you can add a user to any role, remove a user who isn't a student (participant in an organisation), change a non-student/participant users role and availability and also remove yourself from the course. If you need to change a student/participants role or status in the course/organisation, you need to contact the MOLE helpdesk.

How to... add a user From the Manage Users page, click Add users by Role. Enter

the username of the person you wish to add in the Username(s) field. You can add more than one person at the same time with the same role by separating their usernames with a comma, e.g. ab1xxx, ab10yyy, ab09abc. You don't need to use a space. Select the role you wish to give to these users and then click Submit.

1

If you don't know the usernames of the people, you can use the search function at the top of the page and this will add usernames to your comma separated list in the Username(s) field so you don't need to add users one at a time.

How to... change a users role and status As an instructor on a course, you are able change the role a non-student/participant has in a course/organisation and you can also change their status to unavailable, which stops them accessing the course without un-enrolling them

2

Produced by Danny Monaghan, E-learning and Digital Media Support Team

From the Manage Users page, click List/Modify Users. You will be presented with a list of the people enrolled on the course. To change the role of one person, click the Action Link ( double chevron icon) next to their course role and select the new role. To change the status of one user you follow a very similar process by clicking the Action Link in the Enrolment Status column. To change the role or status of more than one user, you need to select the users using the tick box to the left of their names, and then use the relevant button above the top of the list of users. You have the option of filtering this list to give you a more select list of users and you can also print the user list. These option are accessed via the buttons at the top right of this page.

Version 1.0 - 06/09/11

3

How to... remove a user As an instructor/leader, you are able to remove non-student/participant users from the course. The reason you are unable un-enrol a student/participant is because any contribution to a course that a user makes is either removed (for grades in the grade book), or made anonymous (such as discussion forum posting) when you un-enrol them, which has potentially serious implications for graded student work. To remove a user, click Remove Other Users by Role from the Manage Users page. The first thing you need to do is select the role of the users you wish to delete from the list and click Submit. This will present you with a list of the users on the course that have the role you selected. To remove them, select the tick box to the left of the users you wish to remove and click Submit. You will be presented with a confirmation box to ensure the removal is not accidental. Clicking will complete the removal of the users.

How to... remove yourself from a course If you have been enrolled on a course as an instructor that you no longer teach on, you can remove yourself rather than having to ask someone else to do it for you. As with removing other users, it will remove your name from any contributions you have made 4

Produced by Danny Monaghan, E-learning and Digital Media Support Team

to the course. From the Manage Users page, simply click Remove Me Permanently. You will be presented with a confirmation page to ensure it isn't an accidental request, and you simply select Yes and click Submit to complete your removal.

Version 1.0 - 06/09/11

5