edinburgh napier university review

To find out more about Edinburgh Napier University, please visit our website www.napier.ac.uk or contact us: Online: www.napier.ac.uk/contact Call: 08...
Author: Nicholas Taylor
20 downloads 0 Views 3MB Size
To find out more about Edinburgh Napier University, please visit our website www.napier.ac.uk or contact us: Online: www.napier.ac.uk/contact Call: 08452 60 60 40 +44 (0) 131 455 2877 (From outside the UK)

This publication is also available online and in alternative formats, such as audio, large print or Braille please call 08452 60 60 40, visit www.napier.ac.uk/downloads or email: [email protected]

edinburgh napier university review

Edinburgh Napier University is a registered Scottish charity. Reg. No. SC018373

2010>2011

Who’s who Chancellor Tim Waterstone Principal & Vice Chancellor: Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE University Secretary: Dr Gerry Webber Deans: Dr Sandra Cairncross Faculty of Engineering, Computing & Creative Industries Iain McIntosh Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences Professor George Stonehouse The Business School

University Court The governing body of the University is the University Court. The Court is responsible for determining the overall strategic direction of the University. It establishes the budgetary framework, appoints the Principal and exercises general oversight over the University’s performance and development. The Principal is responsible for the executive management of the University and its day-to-day direction. Court membership During the period September 2010 to December 2011, the following members served on the University Court: Chairman of Court: Professor George C Borthwick CBE (to July 2012)

Members: Moi Ali Dr James Boyle Professor Allan Burns CBE Kasia Bylinska Hon. Lady Clark of Calton Mike Connarty Professor John Duffield Willie Gallagher Robert Hare Katie Holmes Rob Kemmer Gary Kildare Steven Logie Professor Robin Mackenzie Roddy Maclennan

Greg McCarra Brian Naylor Justyna Paslawska Dr Jenny Rees Bruce Rigby Professor Brian Sloan Alison Smith Dr Paul Stollard Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE Richard Sweetman Jonathan Watson Pamela Woodburn Tom Zanelli

Vice Chair: Margaret Stephenson

Sighthill Campus

37

5 > Principal’s welcome 7 > University overview 9 > Business review 11 > Meeting the needs of society and the economy 15 > Achievements against our strategy 25 > The Edinburgh Napier estate 27 > Institutes for Research & Innovation

contents

3 > Edinburgh Napier in highlights

31 > Corporate social responsibility 35 > Key donors 37 > Who’s who

>

Overview A

dynamic, innovative and international institution, Edinburgh Napier University is structured into three teaching faculties – the Business School, the Faculty of Engineering, Computing & Creative Industries and the Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences – supported by professional services departments. In addition, nine Institutes for Research & Innovation provide rapid, responsive and customer-focused research and business services relevant to Scotland’s economic, social and cultural needs. Our vision is to be established as one of the leading, modern professional universities in the UK by 2015, with an international reputation for the employability of our graduates and for expertise which can be used to directly enhance the lives and prospects of people and their communities. An Enhancement-led Institutional Review conducted by the Quality

Assurance Agency in May 2011 reported overarching confidence in our management of academic standards and the quality of the student learning experience. We are one of Scotland’s top universities for graduate employability. More than 93 per cent of our students go into work or further study within six months of graduation.* We achieve this level of success by aligning professionally accredited programmes with the needs of the economy; maintaining close industry links and by embedding employability in the teaching and development of our students. More than 1,200 students per year take modules in entrepreneurship and we have helped launch 110 viable businesses. In the last Research Assessment Exercise, 21 per cent of our submitted research work was classed as world-leading or internationally

excellent and 43 per cent was internationally recognised. We are a truly international university with 7,884 EU and international students from 109 different countries. We have been active in Hong Kong for more than 20 years and in mainland China for more than 10 years. There are 3,530 students studying Edinburgh Napier courses delivered with our partners overseas. *Higher Education Statistics Agency 2009/10

“A truly international university” 7

Sighthill Campus Atrium

2

Highlights January 2011 – Opened our £60m Sighthill Campus, home to the Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences.

September 2011 – Unique Sri Lankan MBA launched in association with telecoms giant Mobitel.

February 2011 – Our applications through UCAS were up by more than 28 per cent for 2010/11 demonstrating Edinburgh Napier is becoming a university of choice.

September 2011 – Official visit of the Honourable Donald Tsang GBM, Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, People’s Republic of China.

May 2011 – Quality Assurance Agency’s Enhancement-led Institutional Review reports overarching confidence in the University.

October 2011 – Institute for Creative Industries formally launched to support Scotland’s £5bn creative sector.

Key Statistics •• 17,793 students

July 2011 – The Higher Education Statistics Agency ranks us one of Scotland’s top universities for graduate employability – 93.2 per cent of our students are in work or further study within six months of graduation according to the Destinations of Leavers from Higher Education (DLHE 2009/10) report.

October 2011 – Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE wins Public Sector Leader of the Year at the Scottish Leadership Awards.

August 2011 – Overall student satisfaction increased to 83 per cent in the National Student Survey.

November 2011 – Launched an online MBA set to be one of the most technically advanced in the world.

October 2011 – Launched Scotland’s first ever university Sales Division in response to business needs.

•• 12,696 UK/EU students (71%) and 5,097 International students (29%); including 2,428 students from Hong Kong •• 14,927 Undergraduate students (84%) and 2,866 Postgraduate students (16%) •• 12,528 Full-time students (70%) and 5,265 Part-time students (30%) •• 1,612 staff •• 67,220 active alumni •• 49,745 UK alumni (74%) and 17,475 international alumni (26%)

3

4

Welcome I

t gives me great pleasure to introduce our Review of the 2010/11 academic year. As I write, pressures on public finances have created some uncertainty within the higher education landscape at a time when competition between institutions is growing. We have continued, however, to steer a strong course at Edinburgh Napier – making our recent successes all the more satisfying. Our student population is at a record level, with increased demand for our courses. We have launched nine Institutes for Research & Innovation to streamline business access to our expertise across priority economic sectors. Our impressive new Sighthill Campus officially opened its doors in January 2011 to become the new home to our Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences. And our environmental credentials were recognised when we were ranked first in Scotland in the People & Planet Green League for the second year running. Others, too, have noted our growing reputation, with the Quality Assurance Agency Scotland reporting “overarching confidence” in the quality of our student learning experience. None of this would be possible without the students and staff who do so much to make Edinburgh Napier University an institution of which we can all be proud – and my thanks go to them. We are a university moving in the right direction and I am certain we have many more achievements to look forward to together in the future. Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE Principal & Vice-Chancellor 5

6

O

ur student population remains at an all-time high, with increased demand for our courses. Our applications through UCAS were up by more than 28 per cent for 2010/11. This is an encouraging indication of ongoing demand for learning at the University and follows two years of strong growth in applications. The University has also enjoyed strong growth in international undergraduates studying in Edinburgh and growth on programmes delivered overseas. Graduate employment levels also remain high despite challenging labour market conditions. A total of 93.2 per cent of our 2009/10 graduates were in work or further study six months after graduation, which is above the 92.2 per cent rate for Scottish universities overall.

8

The launch of our nine Institutes for Research & Innovation in 2010 has spearheaded growth in research and knowledge transfer income from commercial and non-commercial sources. The Institutes have led the University’s creation and dissemination of knowledge through research output, notably in the areas of biofuel development, digital security, employment issues, energy efficiency in housing, film, the forestry industry, health, and literature. Donations totalling almost £1 million were received from leading business figures in support of the establishment of Sighthill Campus. Staff moved to the Campus in November 2010, with 5,000 students first joining them

Business review for Trimester 2 in January 2011. The Campus officially opened at a gala launch in May 2011 and is now home to the Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences and many of the University’s Professional Services. The results of the National Student Survey showed that overall satisfaction at Edinburgh Napier has risen to 83 per cent – up from

80 per cent the previous year. There have also been improvements in student retention and progression rates between levels of study. Areas for improvement remain but the University is committed to listening to what students tell us through their feedback, in order to continually improve our offer and ensure higher levels of student satisfaction.

We also continue to develop partnerships to achieve mutually beneficial aims. These include Continuing Professional Development partnerships in areas such as leadership and events management and the development of courses in a range of areas including youth work and the creative industries.

“Spearheading growth in research and knowledge transfer” 9

10

Meeting the needs of society and the economy W

e remain responsive to the Scottish Government’s policy intentions for tertiary education. Their recent paper, Putting learners at the centre, describes a vision for a more joined-up system of post-16 education that improves people’s life chances, delivers the best outcome for the individual and develops world-class research capability and sustainable economic growth. Edinburgh Napier is committed to responding positively to Putting learners at the centre and there are many examples of areas where we are meeting this agenda. Sustainable & well-led The University is well led and financially well managed, posting a surplus for the 2010/11 year in excess of £4.3m. Flexible, learner-centred & open to all As a University we are committed to widening access to higher education and encouraging enthusiasm for learning throughout life.

Part of the Scottish Government’s vision is an expectation that barriers to progression from school to college to university will be further broken down. The development of articulation routes between college and university is something in which Edinburgh Napier already plays a leading role. Of our current student body, 1,402 full-time (19.1%) and 127 part-time (8.3%) undergraduates joined from a UK college. We are now discussing with our college partners how we can take this agenda forward and find new ways and means of working together. Diverse & focused on jobs and growth As one of Scotland’s top universities for graduate employability, with a 93.2 per cent graduate employability rate, we use initiatives such as our Confident Futures programme to embed work-related skills in the teaching and development of all our students. We develop course content in conjunction with industry practitioners and offer masterclasses and work placements to benefit our students further.

More than 100 Edinburgh Napier courses are accredited by professional industry bodies and our Careers service recently became one of the first in the UK to achieve the Matrix Standard, a new national benchmark for service delivery. More than 1,200 students per year take modules in entrepreneurship and through our Moffat Centre, a business incubator space for students and graduates; we have helped launch 110 viable companies. In the last year alone, 146 new students used the Moffat Centre facilities and more than 250 students attended seminars, workshops and a calendar of events and networking opportunities provided both in-house and through a network of external contacts such as the Scottish Institute for Enterprise, Abbey Santander, Business Gateway, HMRC, Prince’s Scottish Youth Business Trust, and Shell Livewire.

11

In 2011 a number of Moffateers were rewarded for their hard work and entrepreneurial spirit, including: •• Two national finalists in the Scottish Institute for Enterprise (SIE) New Ventures competition – Graduate Brian McNally won the Social Enterprise Sector Award for setting up not-for-profit organisation Youth Football Scotland. Business Management student, David Moir was also a finalist with tour booking system, Rezio. Becky Rawlinson. Courtesy of www.flashmunki.co.uk

Case study Becky Rawlinson , 24, a graduate in Culture, Media and Society is just one of the Moffat Centre’s success stories. Becky opened fashion boutique Athena in Edinburgh’s Grassmarket after graduating last year. She combines her love of fashion and the creative industries with the trend for eco chic and now creates new clothing and fashion items by recycling anything from old fabrics to bike tyres. Athena showcases her own up-cycling work as well as locally made art, craft and fashion from other artists.

12

Becky said: “Although I have always been into fashion, I never thought for a minute that I would one day own my own boutique, especially at such a young age.” “When I first approached the Moffat Centre, the team really helped me get my head around exactly how my business idea could grow. I ended up turning what were a few ideas on paper into a real business with premises in less than two years.” “It’s a truly brilliant feeling knowing that I’ve got here so quickly and the Moffat Centre was a key partner in my business journey.”

•• The Edinburgh Napier/SIE New Ideas competition was won by Duncan Monro for his idea to bring speciality haggis restaurants to Edinburgh. •• MDes Interdisciplinary Design graduate Andy Murray won top prize in the Young Innovator category at the John Logie Baird Awards.

Meeting the needs of society and the economy continued Excellent The Quality Assurance Agency carried out an Enhancement-led Institutional Review (ELIR) of Edinburgh Napier in May 2011, reporting overarching confidence in our management of academic standards and the quality of the student learning experience. Identified areas of positive practice are: •• Student partnership •• Student feedback

•• Quality enhancement

Kong for more than 20 years and in mainland China since 1999. More recently we have been working in partnership with the Singapore Workforce Development Agency, Singapore Health, Merck and a private college, CSM, to re-skill health professionals in Singapore including Nurses and Clinical Researchers.

International Internationalisation and transnational education are key strategic priorities and activities where we have a long-term record of success. We have been active in Hong

Our 7,888 EU and overseas students come from more than 100 different countries but our approach to internationalisation is not simply focused on recruiting international students. It is also based on a partnership approach

•• Staff development •• Quality Framework

with institutions overseas – there are 3,530 students studying Edinburgh Napier programmes delivered with our partners overseas and 1,405 students graduated from those courses in 2011. We also maintain exchange agreements with universities across Europe, the USA, Canada and Australia that let our students spend up to a year studying overseas. For further information on our international developments this year, please turn to page 19.

13

14

Achievements against our strategy To be academically excellent In an exceptional year in terms of applications, Edinburgh Napier received the largest rise of any of the capital’s universities, and one of the biggest in Scotland, according to UCAS figures. Our applications through UCAS were up by more than 28 per cent for 2010/11. The Business School has launched Scotland’s first ever university sales division to help fill the country’s ‘sales skills gap’ and boost the economy. The Sales Division of the Edinburgh

Student designer Jordan Scott, 22, patented a universal extension product developed for sale to the UK’s £300m per annum shaving market. The device, which can clip on to any normal razor, was designed by Jordan to help heavily pregnant women shave their legs. It can also be used by those with arthritis, back pain and obesity problems. Jordan is now working with the Scottish Institute for Enterprise to promote his invention to manufacturers and has landed a dream job at Lego.

Institute, which has been widely welcomed by the business community, recognises sales as a profession that plays an essential role in making business profitable. It will offer students academic credit in sales and help develop Scotland’s next generation of wealth creators. Our new online MBA is one of the most technically advanced in the world. The innovative teaching technologies used mean the MBA can be delivered on all digital and mobile platforms including tablet computers. Launched in response to demand for greater flexibility in course provision, the MBA offers try-before-you-buy demonstration materials and competitive course fees with a fully integrated online learning experience. The new School of Life, Sport & Social Sciences launched in August 2010 with staff and students relocating to the new Sighthill Campus for the start of the second trimester in January 2011. By merging two existing schools, we created a robust academic entity with high levels of support for students.

Professor Kevin Cullinane and Professor David Benyon have been appointed to sit on expert sub-panels of the Research Excellence Framework (REF). The REF replaces the Research Assessment Exercise (RAE) as the UK’s comprehensive evaluation of research quality at publicly-funded higher education institutions. Professor Cullinane will sit on the Civil and Construction Engineering sub-panel while Professor Benyon will sit on the Computer Sciences and Informatics sub-panel. The first REF will be completed in 2014. To produce confident, employable graduates Our Careers service received a UK Government stamp of approval when it became one of the first in the country to achieve a new quality standard for the delivery of student advice and guidance. The Matrix Standard, a new national benchmark for service delivery overseen by the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), was awarded to the University after a three-day assessment that commended our ‘modern’ careers service.

15

“The discovery of flu-killing proteins could lead to new treatments for the virus” The new Sales Division of the Edinburgh Institute had an early coup when students Kenny Miller and Louise Bailey, with Director Tony Douglas, landed a transatlantic sales award. They took on 30 universities from across the US to claim second place at the Russ Berrie International Sales Challenge in New Jersey. The University has worked closely with the Russ Berrie institute for Professional Sales in the establishment of our own sales division.

16

Research student Kate Simpson helped a transatlantic team recover illegible entries from Dr David Livingstone’s 1871 field diary using spectral imaging. Livingstone’s account of the Nyangwe Massacre, reported in the world press by Henry M Stanley, prompted the British government to end the East African slave trade. Kate’s contribution to the imaging process helped recover Livingstone’s original account of the massacre while preserving the fragile diary.

Computing graduate Steff McKenna created the BabyDiary mobile phone app, an online tracker that allows parents of premature babies to track their progress while they remain in the neonatal ward. The app won Steff the prestigious Amor Group Software Engineering prize, which recognises best practice in software engineering. Our School of Computing has launched an £800,000 scheme to develop IT company placements for students across Scotland.

Achievements against our strategy To create, exploit and transfer knowledge The project will develop work-based learning placements that meet employers’ needs, ensure employability is at the heart of our computing courses and significantly increase students’ employability. We have also renewed our partnership with STV which sees the broadcaster offer support and practical experience to third and fourth year BA (Hons) Television students. Edinburgh Napier is a partner in the launch of Scotland’s first youth work degree. The BA (Hons) Youth Work course will plug a growing training gap and formally recognise the life changing skills of an army of Scottish youth workers who currently have abundant experience but no qualifications. Paul Gudgin and Robert Shearman have been appointed to give students the benefit of their insight. Paul’s eight-year tenure as director of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe saw the event double in size. He brings 20 years’ experience to his consultancy role with the Edinburgh Institute, Scotland’s leading training ground for festival and events management professionals. Robert, a multi-award winning fantasy writer who reintroduced the Daleks to the BAFTA-

winning Doctor Who series, has been appointed Writer-in-Residence. He will provide one-to-one mentoring to Creative Writing students. To create, exploit and transfer knowledge The Employment Research Institute was commissioned by the Scottish Government to build up an overview of disadvantaged Scots’ financial capabilities. They demonstrated that younger people, those on low incomes, parents and those with poor levels of education have most trouble managing their income and that this in turn, can have a negative effect on the wider economy. Their research will inform the development of a coordinated government policy on Financial Capability. The University’s Biofuel Research Centre filed a patent for an innovative biofuel made from the by-products of the whisky production process. This variant of biobutanol can even be used in ordinary, unmodified cars. With Scotland’s malt whisky industry annually producing 1,600 million litres of Pot Ale and 187,000 tonnes of Draff, the by-products used in the biobutanol, this biofuel has huge potential. A new spin-out company, Celtic Renewables, has now been launched to commercialise the process.

The Biofuel Research Centre was also awarded £582,000 of European funding in March, to engage with Scottish SMEs.

The discovery of flu-killing proteins could lead to new treatments for the virus. Dr Peter Barlow, Principal Investigator in Toxicology at the Centre for Nano Safety in the Institute for Science & Health Innovation, helped develop the research. The proteins discovered, which occur naturally in the human immune response, demonstrated potent anti-viral activity. The research paves the way for further investigation and possible future development of flu treatments that kill bacteria and viruses as well as boosting the body’s natural immune system.

17

“A £2m grant to develop secure healthcare data systems”

Cybercriminals can now be tracked 24/7, thanks to revolutionary digital fingerprinting software created by computer scientists at Edinburgh Napier. Spin-out company Inquisitive Systems, launched to commercialise the GuardInQ software, has already attracted £170k of funding and was shortlisted at the Global Security Challenge summit for its potential to combat cyber espionage and cyber terrorism. Inquisitive Systems was developed by Dr Jamie Graves, who won the Edinburgh Napier University Young Alumnus of the Year award for his work. Inquisitive Systems was shortlisted for the Microsoft Award for Cloud Computing at the 2012 Academic Enterprise Awards (ACES).

18

Researchers in the Institute for Informatics & Digital Innovation won a £2m grant to develop secure healthcare data systems that will enhance patient privacy and care. The technology is being developed in conjunction with Microsoft and a wide range of expert private and public sector collaborators. We are also working with Edinburgh University and Heriot Watt to jointly run the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation – a green hub dedicated to creating low carbon Scottish jobs and services. The development of the Centre for Carbon Innovation has been backed by a £1.4m award from the European Regional Development Fund. The Centre for Carbon Innovation is scheduled to open in 2013.

Achievements against our strategy To be an international university To be an international university A unique, flexible, transnational MBA for aspiring Sri Lankan executives has been launched in association with telecoms giant Mobitel. In a global first, Edinburgh Napier will deliver the MBA via an interactive virtual classroom on Mobitel’s mLearning platform. This allows distance learning students to interact face-to-face with lecturers. Graduates will finish the course with a UK qualification and will have the opportunity to spend a semester studying in Edinburgh. A Visiting Chair in Tagore Studies will be established at Edinburgh Napier to research the works of the influential Indian author, poet and songwriter. Rabindrath Tagore has been lauded as India’s Robert Burns and the Bengali Shakespeare. A Memorandum of Understanding signed with the Indian Council for Cultural Relations will fund the Visiting Chair and two PHD fellowships to commemorate Tagore’s 150th birthday. The move paved the way for a Scottish Centre for Tagore Studies – an international hub to promote Indian culture.

We have now run the first year of a training programme designed to help Singapore develop into the key Asia-Pacific centre for biomedical science. The University was awarded a £3m contract by Singapore’s Workforce Development Agency and Clinical Research Consortium, to train more than 400 people over the next three years. The programme is the first of its kind for their clinical research industry and will equip Singaporean workers with world-class clinical research skills.

Senior academics have taken part in a British Council Scotland mission to China. Tianjin has a population of 12 million and has been dubbed a new Shanghai. It is a growing centre for a range of industries with a developing financial services sector. Meetings with staff from Tianjin’s top universities explored collaboration opportunities which could result in student and academic exchanges, research collaborations and a greater flow of students between the two countries. Our Institute for Product Design & Manufacture helped found the Baltic Scotland Enterprise & Export Centre, an initiative to strengthen Scottish exports to central and Eastern Europe. The centre will also help Scottish companies take advantage of EU funding to establish R&D and production bases in Baltic markets. 

“Our online MBA is a global first” 19

20

Achievements against our strategy To be a preferred partner To be a preferred partner

The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China, the Honourable Donald Tsang GBM visited our Biofuel Research Centre during an official visit to Edinburgh. We have strong links with the growing renewables sector in the region and recently signed a partnership with City University of Hong Kong to establish a Biofuel Research Centre there.

Edinburgh Napier hosted the Symposium on Security Risk, Cybercrime and Criminal Infrastructure, organised by Scottish Enterprise and FinMeccanica Cyber Solutions. Key industry figures met to discuss the cybercrime time bomb, which already costs the UK economy £27bn per year. Speaking ahead of the event, Professor Bill Buchanan from the Institute for Informatics & Digital Innovation warned

cybercrime could cause financial and infrastructure breakdown of disastrous proportions if not tackled head-on. The Scottish Devils Downhill Cycling team chose the state-of-the-art sports science facilities at Sighthill Campus for a quarterly training session. Their intense preparations for the 2012 Fort William World Cup included tests of the riders’ power outputs, strength, body composition and aerobic fitness levels as well as sports psychology support. The Institute for Sustainable Construction is working with Historic Scotland to make traditional tenement buildings more energy efficient and reduce their CO2 emissions. The £20,000 research project analysed tenements in Glasgow, Rothesay, Edinburgh and buildings in Culross and Milton of Buchanan over a two week period. Data on their thermal performance will be used to explore ways they might be made more energy efficient.

The University has won a contract to advise local businesses on the use of technology to support their growth. We were selected by Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce and the City of Edinburgh Council to work with 50 of their key clients, over an 18-month period. We will help their management teams develop their understanding and knowledge of how technology can help support their plans for business development. This work builds on our success providing strategic and impartial advice to senior managers in SMEs across Scotland including supporting high growth businesses on behalf of Scottish Enterprise.

“Key industry figures met to discuss the cybercrime time bomb” 21

22

Achievements against our strategy To attain the highest, organisational standards To attain the highest, organisational standards Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE, Principal & Vice Chancellor of Edinburgh Napier University was named Public Sector Leader of the Year at the Scottish Leadership Awards. The awards, launched by the Scottish Business Insider magazine, recognise the achievements of leaders in Scotland’s public and private sectors. Professor Dame Stringer was praised for “strategically positioning the university to withstand a ten per cent cut in funding whilst growing commercial and overseas income and securing its future financial sustainability”. The University received the Gold Award from the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents – the eighth year in a row that we have achieved this accolade. We were also

awarded a Gold Healthy Working Lives award for our health and safety standards. Finally, we achieved the Investors in People (IIP) bronze status for the first time in May 2010. Find out more about developments at Edinburgh Napier University online: www.napier.ac.uk/media

“Growing commercial and overseas income and securing financial sustainability” 23

Craiglockhart Campus

24

The Edinburgh Napier estate E

dinburgh Napier is a multi-site university with three main campuses at Craiglockhart, Merchiston and Sighthill. We formally celebrated the opening of the landmark £60m Sighthill Campus in May. Students in the Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences have come together at the campus, which provides them with stateof-the-art facilities designed to address the needs of the health and science sector, now and in the future. This includes a cutting edge clinical skills suite, hospital wards and high dependency unit, forensic laboratory and crime scene room. Sighthill also boasts [EN]GAGE, the University’s sports centre, which features a large sports hall, a fitness suite, environmental chamber, research and teaching labs for exercise physiology and a biomechanics lab. This opens directly onto the sports hall, making it one of the best sports and exercise teaching facilities in Scotland.

These industry equivalent facilities complement our teaching and help prepare our students to step seamlessly into employment after graduation. Sighthill Campus was shortlisted for a prestigious Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Award. Craiglockhart Campus, the home of the Business School, with its iconic silver-skinned lecture theatre had a £30m redevelopment in 2004. Now the final phase of our Estate Strategy will commence and will bring together the Faculty of Engineering, Computing & Creative Industries at Merchiston Campus.

Craighouse Campus has now been sold to the Craighouse Partnership which proposes to develop the site into an exceptional residential development. The deal allows our students to remain on Campus until 2012/13, pending the completion of redevelopments at Merchiston.

Artist’s impression: Merchiston Campus from Colinton Road

The birthplace of John Napier, for whom the University is named, Merchiston Campus has unrivalled, centrally located facilities including the award-winning Jack Kilby Computing Centre, Napier Students Association, a computer games lab, newsroom, film studios and soundproofed, state-of-the-art music studios.

25

26

Institutes for Research & Innovation O

ur nine Institutes, closely aligned with the needs of the Scottish economy and with the Scottish Government’s policy goals, act as business gateways. They streamline our commercial activities and offer businesses easy access to our expertise, experience and research capability.

1 Institute for Creative Industries; 2 Edinburgh Institute; 3 Employment Research Institute; 4 Forest Products Research Institute; 5 Institute for Informatics & Digital Innovation;

6 Institute for Product Design & Manufacture; 7 Institute for Science & Health Innovation; 8 Institute for Sustainable Construction; 9 Transport Research Institute.

27

In the last year alone, the Institutes for Research & Innovation have led the University’s creation and dissemination of knowledge in biofuel development, digital security, employment issues, energy efficiency in housing, film, the forestry industry, health, and literature. This high profile suite of work has included:

• developing a biofuel from whisky production by-products that can be used in unmodified cars (page 17);

•• the discovery of potent anti-viral proteins that could pave the way for the development of a cure for flu (page 17); •• a £2m project with Microsoft, developing secure healthcare data systems (page 18);

28

•• launching Scotland’s first university sales division (page 16); •• contributing to a Scottish government policy on Financial Capability (page 17);

•• working with Historic Scotland to make traditional Scottish tenements more energy efficient (page 21); and •• establishing the Baltic Scotland Enterprise & Export centre (page 19).

Institutes for Research & Innovation continued Each of the nine institutes now benefits from the guidance of an Institute Advisory Board, made up of key industry leaders, stakeholders and business peers. These Advisory Board members help ensure that the Institutes maintain close contact with the industries they serve and are responsive to the changing business environment. They include: Dr Douglas Ward CBE Doug is Chair of the Institute Advisory Board for the Institute for Science & Health Innovation. A pioneer of the UK biofuels industry, Doug founded Argent Energy Ltd in 2002 and went on to develop the UK’s first and largest, commercial scale biodiesel facility in Scotland. Since 2005 the plant has produced more than 50 million litres of biodiesel per year from animal fat (tallow) and used cooking oil, saving more than 200,000 tons of carbon emissions annually. Doug is now vice president of the European Biodiesel Board, a director of the UK Renewable Energy Association and Chairman of its transport fuel group. He is widely regarded as one of the most respected figures in the international biofuel community. Doug had earlier followed a long and distinguished career in agriculture. He became a global influencer in the sector and sat on the UK Government’s Cabinet Office Crisis Committee during the BSE outbreak. Fittingly, he was awarded a CBE in 2006 in recognition of his services to agriculture in Scotland. In 2010 Doug received the Honorary Doctor of Science from Edinburgh Napier University in recognition of his achievements in business and his contribution to agriculture and biofuel development in Scotland.

Paul Atkinson Par Equity LLP Paul is a member of the Institute Advisory Board for the Institute for Informatics & Digital Innovation. As an entrepreneur, angel investor and venture capital professional, he has a substantial track record of creating and realising value for companies in the technology and services sector. In 1995 Paul founded his first business, Direct Resources, which he sold four years later for £3.4m. In 1997 he launched Scotland’s first online recruitment business, RecruitmentScotland.com, which was sold in 2000 for £9m. Since 1999 he has invested in a number of early stage technology and services companies that have made significant progress, including Rocela (www.rocela.com) and Mobiqa (www.mobiqa.com). In 2001 he founded a new recruitment business, Head Resourcing, which has since grown to be a significant player in the Scottish recruitment scene. It has been listed twice in the top ten of the Sunday Times Fasttrack 100 and won the Scottish Recruitment awards 2010. Paul is Founder and Coordinator of the Scottish IT Directors Forum and a member of the ICT Industry Advisory Group working with Scottish Enterprise and the Scottish Government.

29

30

Corporate social responsibility E

dinburgh Napier University is committed to reducing its environmental footprint in all areas of impact – from waste generated and energy used to wider corporate social responsibility considerations. For the second consecutive year, we were ranked first in Scotland in the People & Planet Green League – the only independent, nationwide assessment of universities’ environmental performance. The Green League also ranks us 13th in the UK. We score well in carbon management, carbon reduction and in both waste generated and water consumption per head.

We are a member of the Environmental Association of Universities and Colleges (EAUC), a robust network of universities and colleges working together to reduce the sector’s environmental impact. The EAUC’s Universities and Colleges Climate Commitment for Scotland report records a reduction in our carbon emissions since 2006/07 of 24.1 per cent. This takes into account the effect of rationalising the University estate including the move to Sighthill Campus – which achieved a BREEAM (Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method) excellent rating for design.

Sighthill features a combined heat and power unit that currently generates around 35 per cent of the electricity used on campus. Cutting carbon emissions is endorsed at the highest level and we encourage staff to be actively aware and play their part in reducing wasted energy and resources both at the University and at home. Our current recycle rate on campus is 43.47 per cent and all university-managed student accommodation includes internal and external recycling facilities to help contribute towards City of Edinburgh Council targets.

“Ranked first in Scotland in the People & Planet Green League” 31

“Exceptional environmental and sustainability initiatives”

Further endorsement of our success in these areas came when we were shortlisted for a Green Gown Award in Carbon Reduction. The Green Gown awards recognise exceptional environmental and sustainability initiatives being undertaken by universities and colleges across the UK. Through the [EN]GAGE Sports Centre facilities at Sighthill Campus, Edinburgh Napier supports a number of city-wide community initiatives. In partnership with Edinburgh Leisure and

32

the City of Edinburgh Council, we’re hosting Open All Hours, an initiative promoting sports and physical activity to high school pupils in the south west of Edinburgh. This brings young people from around Sighthill on campus, for two hours every Friday night, for arts and crafts activities; sports such as rugby, racquetball, football, basketball and judo; and supervised gym exercise. We had 50 young people take part in just two weeks and have support from Lothian and Borders Police for getting young people off the streets and into a safe environment.

Open All Hours provided a useful focus to begin our Sports Volunteering program aimed at improving the graduate employability of students. Linked with National Governing Bodies, sporting organisations and community clubs, the program offers coaching and other vocational opportunities to students. Open All Hours allowed us to take on four sports science students to work with young people in a sports environment and help supervise Friday night activities.

Corporate social responsibility continued The University’s Environmental Sustainability Policy and Plan, including our Carbon Management Plan, will all be updated later this year. During 2010/11 we carried out an extensive transport survey to allow us to develop Travel Plans for all our campuses, as well as a successful biodiversity review, which will allow us to also develop a Biodiversity Management Plan. We are also preparing a Community Engagement Strategy to examine how we can develop our partnership links with relevant community partners or stakeholders to achieve mutually beneficial aims. The University secured funding from the Ecosystem Services for Poverty Alleviation Consortium (NERC, DfiD and ESRC) for work on Swahili Seas: valuing and conserving coastal ecosystems in East Africa. This work includes research, training and the development of a community conservation initiative.

We also now work alongside the University of Edinburgh and Heriot-Watt University to support and host the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation. This is an innovation centre that fosters collaborative working between policy, community and business leaders and provides a forum in which to solve low carbon problems. Through professional skills training, short courses and Masters, it aims to equip the next generation of industry leaders and opinion formers to tackle climate change. It is specifically designed to engineer interaction with industry and policy-makers, with a strong focus on commercialisation, knowledge sharing and executive education.

to Edinburgh Napier through the scheme and it offers the university ongoing opportunities for social engagement and widening participation. We are now a signatory to the Edinburgh Beltane Manifesto for Public Engagement, underscoring our commitment to the local communities in which we operate. Staff across the University take advantage of opportunities to get involved in community outreach activity. A series of university-wide events this year will provide a forum to recognise and celebrate existing activities and discuss future public engagement.

We support the Progress Through Learning initiative, which will engage with 150 adult learners and raise their aspirations to take up or return to further or higher education. A number of participants have already applied

“Underscoring our commitment to the local communities in which we operate” 33

34

Key donors T

he University gratefully acknowledges the generous support of donors, who this year include:

Dr Lawrence Ho The University received a gift of £500,000 from Hong Kong entrepreneur and philanthropist Dr Lawrence Ho. Dr Ho’s second gift to Edinburgh Napier will help students from Hong Kong, Macau and China study here and allow us to develop further collaborations with businesses and higher education providers in the region. Awards from the Lawrence Ho Scholarship and Research Fund will finance scholarships, work placements, travel bursaries and student prizes. Edinburgh-based students who wish to study abroad for up to a year can also apply.

Scottish Centre for Tagore Studies The Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) pledged £90,000 to establish a Visiting Chair at SCoTS, the Scottish Centre for Tagore Studies (See page 19). A University delegation will travel to India in autumn 2012 to promote SCoTS at a fundraising dinner. The Andrew Doig Fund A former staff member at the Ian Tomlin Academy of Music, who sadly passed away in 2011, Andrew Doig left a lasting memorial at the University. An endowment fund in his name will provide an annual master class at the Academy. Santander Universities Edinburgh Napier has extended its partnership with Santander Universities for three years from 2012 to 2015. We have been part of the Santander Universities network since 2009. Their funding of over £190,000 has provided 28 international student scholarships and 19 student mobility awards, allowing them to travel overseas. The partnership has also supported important research projects and entrepreneurial activity through our Centre for Entrepreneurship and Moffat Centre.

Vinodka Murria Dr Vinodka Murria, who received an Honorary degree in 2010, has set up the PS Foundation Scholarship Fund. This will provide undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships giving financial support to disadvantaged business, computing and engineering students from India who wish to study here. Roger and Jean Miller Undergraduate Scholarships To mark the opening of Sighthill Campus, Roger and Jean Miller established a scholarship fund, to provide awards of up to £1,000 to nursing students. The fund has already helped 19 students continue their studies when they might otherwise have been forced to withdraw. Clan Napier North America Silver Anniversary Scholarships A Silver Anniversary scholarship has been launched to mark the 25th anniversary of the founding of Clan Napier in North America. Matthew Woodard, the first recipient, graduated in June 2012 and the University hosted a Clan visit to celebrate his success.

35

36

Who’s who Chancellor Tim Waterstone Principal & Vice Chancellor: Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE University Secretary: Dr Gerry Webber Deans: Dr Sandra Cairncross Faculty of Engineering, Computing & Creative Industries Iain McIntosh Faculty of Health, Life & Social Sciences Professor George Stonehouse The Business School

University Court The governing body of the University is the University Court. The Court is responsible for determining the overall strategic direction of the University. It establishes the budgetary framework, appoints the Principal and exercises general oversight over the University’s performance and development. The Principal is responsible for the executive management of the University and its day-to-day direction. Court membership During the period September 2010 to December 2011, the following members served on the University Court: Chairman of Court: Professor George C Borthwick CBE (to July 2012)

Members: Moi Ali Dr James Boyle Professor Allan Burns CBE Kasia Bylinska Hon. Lady Clark of Calton Mike Connarty Professor John Duffield Willie Gallagher Robert Hare Katie Holmes Rob Kemmer Gary Kildare Steven Logie Professor Robin Mackenzie Roddy Maclennan

Greg McCarra Brian Naylor Justyna Paslawska Dr Jenny Rees Bruce Rigby Professor Brian Sloan Alison Smith Dr Paul Stollard Professor Dame Joan K Stringer DBE Richard Sweetman Jonathan Watson Pamela Woodburn Tom Zanelli

Vice Chair: Margaret Stephenson

Sighthill Campus

37

To find out more about Edinburgh Napier University, please visit our website www.napier.ac.uk or contact us: Online: www.napier.ac.uk/contact Call: 08452 60 60 40 +44 (0) 131 455 2877 (From outside the UK)

This publication is also available online and in alternative formats, such as audio, large print or Braille please call 08452 60 60 40, visit www.napier.ac.uk/downloads or email: [email protected]

edinburgh napier university review

Edinburgh Napier University is a registered Scottish charity. Reg. No. SC018373

2010>2011

Suggest Documents